New Year, New Adventures

Hi Everyone!

 

My name is Lauren Davies and I am in the second semester of the Arts Management program at UWO’s Continuing Studies. I did my undergrad at the University of Western Ontario in their Media, Information and Technoculture program.

It was so amazing to read about Carly’s internship experience and it makes me that much more excited to begin my own in just a few short months. There are many lessons to be learned from the fact that our circumstances may change, and this is something I feel that I will take forward with me as I begin my search for the perfect practicum. There is so much to think about when it comes to choosing your practicum, such as where you want to live and what experience you will be able to gain from whichever organization you end up choosing. This semester, a lot of decision need to be made regarding my future and where I will end up. I do, however, have one more semester to get through, and this week we all came back from vacation to start up again.

After only a few short days of being back at school, I am already absolutely loving my courses. This semester, the Arts Management students are taking Event Management, Foundational Planning, Human Resource Management, Financial Management and Communications. So far, these course have proven to be extremely practical, and our teachers have been incredible. It’s different this semester because we have some of our classes with the Not-for-Profit Management students. I am really looking forward to getting to know this group better and having classes with them. So far the experience has been great!

What I love most about this program are the practical aspects in all the work that we do. It’s very refreshing coming from the academic setting of my undergrad, and I continually feel more prepared for when I do venture out into the working world of the arts industry. This was particularly important to me coming into this program. While I have done internships in the film and television industries prior to this program, I have never felt entirely confident in my abilities to actually take on challenges and complete tasks on my own. I have found that in the Arts Management program, I have learned to do things and analyze things in the ways that I would need to in an arts work environment. For example, our final project in our Marketing class last semester was to create a marketing promotional campaign for the arts organization of our choice. This massive project took days to complete, and so much thought and detail were required in every aspect of the assignment. Regardless of the stress and long days, I absolutely loved this project! I learned so much and really felt like what I was doing was relevant to what I would be doing in the working world. It was refreshing and absolutely exhilarating. I guess it’s true, what they say, that when you love what you do it doesn’t feel like work at all.

So far my experience in the Arts Management program has been incredible and I am so happy that I decided to apply last year, at this very time. I have met so many amazing people and feel that I have created lifelong friends and mentors.

I want to wish everyone at Continuing Studies a happy and healthy New Year and I am excited to see what comes next! If you have any questions regarding the Arts Management program, or life at Continuing Studies in general, please do not hesitate to contact me, ldavie7@uwo.ca!

 

Lauren Davies

One Comment on “New Year, New Adventures”

  1. carlyekstein says:

    Lauren, great post! I must agree that the post-degree programs offered through continuing studies are extremely practical. My program adequately prepared me to take on a marketing role and feel confident that I would be able to succeed.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.